10 Cloverfield Lane #MovieReview #somespoilers

cloverfield.0
I saw 10 Cloverfield Lane on a date with my wife today. The movie stars John GoodmanMary Elizabeth Winstead, and John Gallagher Jr. (also Bradley Cooper if you recognize him as the voice of Ben). It’s about a woman who wakes up in a bunker, chained to a wall after she’s in a bad car accident. Her captor is actually her savior, but all is not as it seems.

Or ‘but the world outside has changed’. Cloverfield

Or ‘is there anyone left who can save her’.

You can throw in your own tag line because what you see isn’t exactly what you get in this movie. One of the main reasons I wanted to see this movie was because I wanted to see how it tied in to the original Cloverfield. I’m not entirely sure, but I did find this website. I also found this site that quotes director Dan Trachtenberg on the meaning of the ending. I hope I don’t need to say spoilers abound.

But onto the actual review:

The Good: 10 Cloverfield Lane‘s best aspects are the performances of John Goodman and Mary Elizabeth Winstead. The two of them interacting lead to good chemistry and tension is ratcheted until the only possible eventuality: one of them dies.

CloverfieldThe Bad: 10 Cloverfield Lane hangs its hat on its title. My wife and I left the theater having no clue knowing how the two movies are connected. This movie could have surivived (but not made as much money) under the power of a unique title. I had a small problem with the denouement at the end, but it would involve me spoiling the end… so it’s at the bottom.

And how did I feel about that: Rewatchable. That’s probably one of the highest compliments I could pay to a movie. It doesn’t catch you up in it as much as Cloverfield, but when it comes on cable, I’ll tune in.

This blog is going away soon! Please join me over at http://www.geralddeanrice.com! And don’t forget to download a book.

Cloverfield

***The truck. The truck at the end. Why exactly did the alien ship want to eat a truck?

Leave a Reply

