Taking a #break #amwriting

I’m writing my YA novel as if this is the very first book I’ve ever written. I suppose, in a way, that’s true, although I don’t want to be disingenuous to The Ghost Toucher. But because it was my first novel and there’s so much about it that’s all over the place, I’m coming up against things now that I didn’t experience then. I taught myself how to plot and wound up with a storyline that went in several directions at once.

Oh, wait, I just gave you the inside scoop. Yes, I’m writing a YA novel.

But I started by giving myself a skeleton to work from. I even stole it from another author. It was immensely helpful even though I’ve severely deviated from it in spots. But what I’ve found with my aggressive writing schedule that I sometimes just don’t feel like writing. I had plenty enough time over this weekend, but I wrote a total of 1,135 words between Friday and Monday. But that’s actually okay, I think.

This book started as a NaNoWriMo project in November. After writing about 10,000 words that month, I decided to continue the project and in addition to setting writing goals, I created a writing schedule to set which days I write. 1,293 words per day is a lofty goal, so I’m not disappointed I miss it on a daily basis, but as you can see below, I didn’t come close to hitting those numbers over the weekend.

And that’s okay. The intention is to finish my WIP by mid-month February and then work on redrafting. The idea is to set a day for when you want to be done and work backward. Figure out a total estimated word count, give yourself about two week buffer and figure out how many words you need to write per day to hit your total. Use that buffer to give yourself some days off!

Capture

Leave a Reply

