The Firing Range

I had the chance to go to my local police department’s firing range today. I used the standard medium glock that officers carry and after a very brief explanation on how to hold, load, and fire I did a little target shooting.

First off, it was incredibly loud. I had to wear two types of hearing protection and the kick surprised me. After I finished with the first clip, I believe it was 9 bullets, the officer told me I was going to shoot for scoring. Now other than firing my brother’s .22 back when I was fourteen in the backyard into the dirt, I’ve never shot an actual gun. So when I set my sites and began firing, I wasn’t expecting anything fantastic. Body shots were worth ten points, head shots were worth twenty. Check out how I did:

fire!

My score was 170 out of 200. I’ll know where I placed next week!

One thought on “The Firing Range”

  1. “I used the standard medium glock that officers carry … I believe it was 9 [mm] bullets, …”

    Sounds like a Glock 19 – a great gun, I have one. 🙂

    “My score was 170 out of 200.”

    Pretty damn good! Maybe you ought to look into getting a concealed carry license? 🙂

    regards,

    lwk

Leave a Reply

