What to Say? #amwriting

Even though I’m looking forward to speaking at the Bloomfield Township Public Library’s ‘Beneath the Surface‘ event on July 11, I’m a little worried.  It’s really the first I’ve ever done anything like this and I’m not sure exactly what to do.  I mean, by the time I’m there I will have already taught my first class on e-publishing at the Clinton-Macomb Public Library.  But that’s different- I have a definite itinerary and know my subject matter inside and out.

I’m just wondering what to say about being a horror writer.  I’ll give my credentials and how I became a fan of the genre, but how in-depth should I get?  Do I talk about blood and gore?  About the constant feel of something just outside of eye’s reach?  About something hungry and decidedly non-human coming up the basement stairs?

I’ll probably read an excerpt from my latest upcoming work.  Maybe I’ll field some questions too.  Hopefully, there will be an aspiring writer or two in the audience.  I’m still looking for more libraries to visit, though, and hopefully, this will be the first of many.

 

Check out my booklist on Amazon and Amazon #UK

2 thoughts on “What to Say? #amwriting”

  1. HI Gerald,
    I’m just wondering what area of the world you live in. I can’t find anything on any of your sites about that.
    Check out the website I’ve included. It might be something you’re interested in. 🙂
    ~Karen

Leave a Reply

