#TheWalkingDead – Q&A with Norman Reedus

 
 
February 19, 2013
Q&A - Norman Reedus (Daryl Dixon)
Q&A – Norman Reedus (Daryl Dixon)
Norman Reedus, who plays Daryl Dixon on AMC’s The Walking Dead, talks about duking it out with his on-screen brother and why Chandler Riggs considers him the other kid on set.Q: Emily Kinney told us about how they worked her skills as a singer into the show. Have any of your off-screen talents been integrated into your character?

A: I can’t sing like Emily, but a lot of my characteristics are in Daryl. I ride a bike and am good at giving people dirty looks.

Q: You’ve been riding your motorcycle on-set and off for a few years now. Have you found some good back-country Georgia roads to cruise?

A: I take it south of here and I don’t even keep track of where I am. I drive for hours. I’ve found so many new trails and so many new roads. The motorcycle Daryl rides is the one they picked out from Season 1 — it was in the background. They found that bike and left the stickers on and liked it so much they didn’t want to change anything.

Q: It’s hard to imagine anyone else playing Daryl. What are some ways you’ve made the character your own?

A: When you do television, you have this opportunity to drop these subtle hints everywhere. The way you say things, for example, sometimes those seeds turn into trees. I’ve had quite a few of those things happen. Daryl’s childhood, for example. In Season 2 when Carol kisses me after Andrea shoots at me, I flinched. That wasn’t in the script and now this year there’s a story line about how I had an abusive childhood. Having to do 16 episodes with these characters, of course we’re going to find more to do. Carol and Daryl have a stronger bond, and I’ve gotten to explore stuff with my brother, for example.

Q: Was the reunion of Daryl and Merle this season as sweet for you and Michael Rooker as it was for fans?

Continue reading “Q&A – Norman Reedus (Daryl Dixon)” »

EXCLUSIVE VIDEOS
Feature Video Sneak Peek Episode 311 The Walking Dead: I Ain’t a Judas
 
 
Win AMC Swag

 

If you get this newsletter, you’re automatically entered to win 12 packs of The Walking Dead Dog Tags! Each week, we’ll give away another prize to one lucky subscriber! It’s our way of saying “Thanks.”
EXCLUSIVE FEATURES
Missed <em>The Walking Dead</em> Sunday Night? Watch it This Friday Missed The Walking Dead Sunday Night? Watch it This Friday
FOLLOW The Walking Dead
 
 
 

Do you like shows about zombies?  Then try this one!

Leave a Reply

