The bubbles are coming #amwriting

I’m trying something new. In fact, I’m doing it right now. I’m using the voice command feature on my smartphone to dictate this post. So far, so good.

But I’ve been conducting an experiment over the last few days. I’ve been using my smart phones quick word app to dictate I short story. You may have noticed that previous sentence wasn’t quite right. While I am enunciating and being careful 2 separate each word, sometimes my smartphone doesn’t hear me right. It is so difficult to not go back and correct that sentence.

Dictating a story into the quick word app has been even more trying. Just about each time it hears the words 1 and too, it represent them with numbers even if I am using the actual word instead. Now I did recently upgraded my phone, and the dictation feature is superior to my old droid. But there are somethings missing.

The bubbles is a short story based on a nightmare my daughter had when she was 3. Or maybe even a series of Nightmares between the ages of 3 and 4. But they were real to our daughter. We were able to resolve the issue when she woke up by taking a spray bottle filled with water and Springs generally around her room until the bubbles were gone. That word was supposed to be spraying not Springs.

I had been hesitant to write this story because I wanted to do it justice in the manner in which it had unsettled me. Maybe in my mind that can never happen because it’s a strange thing to be frightened by something that frightens your child.

I’m still adding the story because there are many errors in dictating, but there are also some author issues as well. I just can’t tell a story as well as I can write it. And it’s almost like a new story to me because of so much that I said that was off the top of my head that I don’t remember. But look for it in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

