If I Could Impart My Meager Advice

Even if I’m not in a buying mood, I’m looking at books all the time. I see things that if I could whisper in the author/publisher’s ear I’d tell them how to fix. Not that I know a ton, but a 4,000 word story is way overpriced at $2.99. I would charge $0.99 for anything between 5,000 and 10,000 words. At 4,000, I’d either work on lengthening the story or putting it out for free while I worked on the next, longer story.

Also, when writing a series of books, don’t use the same cover over and over. People who buy your first book are going to think they already bought your second or third or however many you eventually put out. What you’re saving in cost you’re probably losing several times over in sales. Especially if you’re book is overpriced.

There are a few guides you can do a quick search and find, like The Launch Coach. He goes more into the pricing of non-fiction, so it’ll still require a little thinking on one’s feet, but I can tell you, no one will see the same value the same as the author who charges $2.99 for a story that is only 4,000 words. In this case, I think it is a good thing to see what one’s peers are doing. Unless the story is selling like gangbusters, that is. If that’s the case, by all means, carry on.

Leave a Reply

